You are viewing a past event. Ticket sales and paper submissions are closed.
Existing user?


The landscape in the new era of energy transition: Challenges, investment opportunities and technological innovations

Metropolitan Hotel Athens

18-20 May 2017

Opening Keynote Address

Ricardo Raineri Bernain

IAEE President Elect 2016; Professor at Pontifical Catholic University of Chile

Giorgos Stathakis*

Minister of Environment and Energy (Greece)

Keynote Speakers

Samuele Furfari

Adviser to the General Director of DG Energy, European Commission; Professor at the Free University of Brussels

Sherif Sousa

Secretary General, Ministry of Energy, Egypt

Kostis Hatzidakis*

Vice-president, New Democracy

Michael Jefferson

Editor, Energy Policy; Professor at ESCP Europe Business School; Senior Fellow, Department of Economics and International Studies, University of Buckingham

Soteris Kalogirou

Editor-in-Chief, Renewable Energy Journal; Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Sciences and Engineering of the Cyprus University of Technology, Limassol, Cyprus

George Kremlis

Head of the "Cohesion Policy and Environmental Impact Assessments" Unit in the Directorate-General for the Environment of the European Commission

Stergios Pitsiorlas

Deputy Minister of Economy and Development

James Smith

Co-editor, The Energy Journal; President-elect of the United States Association for Energy Economics; Cary M. Maguire Chair of Oil and Gas Management, Edwin L. Cox School of Business, Southern Methodist University, Dallas

Sokratis Famellos

Alternate Minister of Energy and Environment

Michael Verriopoulos

Secretary General of Ministry of Environment and Energy

Geoffrey R. Pyatt

Ambassador of the United States of America to the Hellenic Republic

Giannis Maniatis

Greek MP & frm Minister of Energy & Environment

Makis Papageorgiou

Business Consultant, frm Deputy Minister of Energy, Greece

Kostas Skrekas

Member of Parliament for the New Democracy Party

Pantelis Kapros

Professor of Division of Electric Power, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Plenary Speakers

Thomas Achimastos

Vice President, GasTrade

Amela Ajanovic

Professor, Technical University of Vienna

Miltos Aslanoglou

Energy Consultant

Yannis Bassias

Chairman & CEO, Hellenic Hydrocarbon Resources Management

Dinos Benroubi


Carlo Andrea Bollino

President, A.I.E.E. (Italian Association for Energy Economics)

Nicholas Chatziargyriou

Chairman & CEO, HEDNO S.A.

Hans Coenen

Vice-president Corporate Business Development, N.V. Nederlandse Gasunie

Alkis Drakinos

Head of Resident Office – Greece, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)

Valérie Ducrot

Executive Director, Global Gas Centre

Tasos Garis

Energy consultant; Head of Energy Strategy and Planning, HAEE

Miguel Gaspar Silva

Industry Director, Utilities Lead, EMEA

Patrick Gougeon

Professor of Energy Economics, ESCP Europe Business School

Yannis Grigoriou

General Manager, Exploration & Production of Hydrocarbons, Hellenic Petroluem S.A 

Reinhard Haas

Current coordinator of European affiliates of the IAEE

Antoine Halff

Director, Global Oil Markets, Center on Global Energy Policy - Columbia University

Yannis Kabouris


Anastasios Kallitsantsis

President, Ellaktor

Panayotis Kanellopoulos

CEO, M&M Gas

Nektaria Karakatsani

Member of the Board, Regulatory Authority for Energy

Thodoris Karipidis

CEO, Lever

Ioannis Kirkinezis

Business Development Director, Hill International

Thodoris Kitsakos


Gavin Kretzschmar

Professor of Finance and Management Control Department, EADA

Mariana Ortiz Laborde

Portfolio Director, Global Gas, Gas Natural Fenosa

Loukas Lazarakis

Managing Director, EDF Nuvelles Greece

Gaetano Massara

CEO Southern Eastern Europe, General Electric

Stavros Mountelos

General Director, Environmental & Energy Projects, EDIL Hellas

Vittorio Musazzi

Head of Relations with International Partners, SNAM

Sotiris Nikas

CEO & Chairman, DESFA

Ioannis Orfanos

Director, Green Value Associates

Manolis Panagiotakis

Chairman & CEO, PPC S.A.

Georgios Papaefthymiou

Expert Power System Operation and Security at ELIA GRID INTERNATIONAL

Eirinaios M. Pelechras

Sales and Business Development of EMEK Group

Michalis Philippou

CEO & Chairman, LAGIE

Mamdouh G Salameh

International Oil Economist, Oil Market Consultancy Service

George Spanoudis

Chairman, DEPA

Aris Stefatos

Chief Operations Officer at MVest Energy AS

Thodoris Terzopoulos


Michalis Thomadakis

Director Energy Sector, Grant Thorton

Anastasios Tosios

Distribution Operating Director, EDA Attikis

Thodoris Tsakiris

Assistant Professor, University of Nicosia

Rudy Van Beurden

Communications & Public Affairs Manager, Fluxys

Mischenko Vyacheslav

Head of Argus, Russia and FSU

Kostas Xifaras

Head of Energy, Technical Chamber of Greece

Arthouros Zervos

Chairman of REN21 (the Renewable Energy Policy Network for the 21st Century); Professor, National Technical University of Athens


Kostas Andriosopoulos

President of HAEE, Conference Co-Chair

Spiros Papaefthimiou

Vice President of HAEE, Conference Co-Chair

*To be confirmed